DP Gachagua Reassures Youth Of Gov’t Support In Their Work

Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua has promised the youth of the government’s readiness to support their work and nurture them to become better contributors to the nation’s development.

Speaking on Tuesday evening at Harambee House Annex when he hosted young Kenyans who emerged victorious during the Forty Under 40 Africa Awards held in South Africa, the DP said the Kenya Kwanza administration was keen on nurturing the youth to be better in their field of expertise.

DP Gachagua said the country was endowed with hardworking young people with the right work ethic assuring them of the government’s keenness to assist them fully exploit their potential.

“Kenya is a land of opportunities and of good brains. Our young people are hardworking and innovative. We are creating an environment for them to fully exploit their potential,” said the DP.

He said the Bottom-Up Economic Transformation Agenda (BETA) being implemented by the government under the leadership of President William Ruto was the best approach to expanding the economic model at the bottom to involve more young people in improving the nation’s economy.

“Most of the young people are at the bottom. Our objective is to create more opportunities for them to rise up and become better citizens making a contribution to nation building,” said the DP.

The winners scooped the awards in various categories despite stiff competition from counterparts from Africa raising higher the country’s profile.

Gachagua encouraged them to remain focused, resilient and not to listen to naysayers keen to bring them down.

“You are right on track. It is possible to succeed if you work harder on your dreams and ignore the detractors,” he added.

Tourism and Wildlife Cabinet Secretary Peninah Malonza, who accompanied the winners, also praised the awardees for being good ambassadors in their fields.

She promised her ministry’s support to nurture their work and expand their impact in the society.

The young people who scooped top awards are Gilbert Ang’ana (Capacity Building Award), Wangari Kuria (Agriculture Award), Linda Odhiambo (Education), Joan Musumba (Environment and Conservation), Isaac Mwangi (Social Enterprise and Responsible Tourism), Edwin Taka (Community Development), Elijah Nyaanga (Journalism) and Sosthen Eugine (Youth Governance).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button